‘Avatar’ Producer Confirms Screenwriters for Sequels


Whether you love director James Cameron’s work or can’t stand it, there’s no denying that the man has vision. In the case of his sci-fi epic Avatar, which had a development history that spanned well over a decade, his vision extends to not just one but three upcoming sequels that will be produced back-to-back and released in 2016, 2017 and 2018.

When it comes to pinning down exactly who will be putting pen to paper on Avatar 2Avatar 3 and Avatar 4, however, things can understandably get somewhat hard to follow. Cameron has hired novelist Steven Gould to writefour stand-alone novels based on the Avatar movies, and there are currently four screenwriters working on the scripts for the future sequels.

Luckily, Avatar producer (and Cameron’s business partner) Jon Landau has now clarified exactly which screenwriters will be working on which scripts in an interview with theNew York Times. Avatar 2 will be written by Rise of the Planet of the Apes duo Rick Jaffa and Amanda Silver. The script for Avatar 3 will be penned by Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles writer Josh Friedman, who was previously said to be working on a rewrite of Avatar 2. Finally, Avatar 4 will be written by Shane Salerno, who co-wrote the screenplay for the 2012 Oliver Stone movie Savages.

Landau further explains that the majority of the brainstorming for the Avatar sequels took place last year in a room at MBS Media Campus, a California studio that will be used to shoot some of the effects sequences. Leads Zoe Saldana and Sam Worthington have already been confirmed as returning for all three sequels, and Landau says that the movies will follow “the story of [Jake and Neytiri's] life together.”

For the full article visit ScreenRant

Share this post Leave a comment

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eight − = 1

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>